Adoption in six words

Smith Magazine has this series called “Six-Word Memoirs.” The series invites readers to submit their thoughts on a variety of topics – but submissions are limited to six words. When I was reading through some of the entries I started thinking about what I would say about adoption. Here are a few tries:

new family forms; tragedy lingers still

missed first four years; here now

fear becomes joy; I have hope

their story, our story; collide gracefully

What’s your adoption story in six words? If you haven’t experienced adoption, what’s your family’s story in six words?

3 thoughts on “Adoption in six words

  1. Constant feeling of rejection/abandonment. These are not my words. They are my perception of what someone very dear to me feels in relation to his adoption. I admire you very much for how you and your family have taken on your adoption. It’s heartwarming.

Leave a Reply

